What are the 7 Chakras and their Meaning?

What are the 7 chakras and their meaning?

The Chakras, which are energy centers in the human body, play a vital role in our physical, mental, and spiritual well-being.

Seven important chakras are associated with a specific body area and function along the spinal column. These chakras process and distribute life force energy (also known as prana or qi) throughout the body. When the chakras are balanced and open, energy flows freely, and we experience good health, vitality, and well-being. However, when the chakras become blocked or imbalanced, it can lead to physical, emotional, and spiritual problems.

The practice of chakra healing involves meditation, visualization, yoga asana and energy work to help balance and align the chakras.

The Study of Chakras

The study of chakras is a diverse and multi-faceted field that encompasses many practices and disciplines. It includes the study of Eastern philosophies and spiritual traditions such as Hinduism and Buddhism, as well as incorporating Western psychological and physiological concepts. In addition, the study of chakras involves exploring the nature and function of the chakras and techniques for balancing and aligning them. Some practitioners incorporate crystals, sound therapy, and other modalities in their chakra work.

The 7 Chakras illustrated on an outline of a man
The 7 Chakras.From Bottom to top: Root chakra (Muladhara), Sacral chakra (Svadhishthana), Solar plexus chakra (Manipura), Heart chakra (Anahata), Throat chakra (Vishuddha), Third eye chakra (Ajna) and Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

The 7 Charkas Explained - Simply

The Root chakra (Muladhara)

The Root chakra (Muladhara), located at the base of the spine, is associated with survival and a sense of grounding. It is the foundation of the chakra system and represents our connection to the earth and the physical world.

The Sacral chakra (Svadhishthana)

The Sacral chakra (Svadhishthana) is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with creativity, sexuality, and emotional well-being. It is the source of our dynamic and sexual energy and helps us connect with others healthily.

The Solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

The Solar plexus chakra (Manipura) is located in the upper abdomen and is associated with personal power and self-esteem. It helps us feel confident, control our lives, and assert our boundaries with others.

The Heart chakra (Anahata)

The Heart chakra (Anahata) is located in the chest and is associated with love, compassion, and relationships. It is the center of our emotional life and helps us to connect with others lovingly and compassionately.

The Throat chakra (Vishuddha)

The Throat chakra (Vishuddha) is located in the throat and is associated with communication, self-expression, and truth. It helps us to express ourselves honestly and authentically and to communicate our thoughts and feelings effectively.

The Third eye chakra (Ajna)

The Third eye chakra (Ajna) is located between the eyebrows and is associated with intuition, perception, and wisdom. It helps us see beyond the surface level and access our inner knowledge and higher guidance.

The Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

The Crown chakra (Sahasrara), located at the top of the head, is associated with spirituality and connection to the divine. It represents our highest potential and helps us to connect with a higher power and to find meaning and purpose in life.

Let's sum up what the chakras represent

The 7 chakras play a vital role in our physical, mental, and spiritual well-being. Practicing chakra healing techniques such as meditation, visualization, yoga asana and energy work can help balance and align our chakras to allow energy to flow freely and achieve optimal health and well-being. Taking care of our chakras is essential to holistic self-care and can improve the overall quality of life.



Yoga Helps Create a Calmer Mind. Here a plus size brunette woman practices yoga with body positivity with a laptop at home for livestream yoga.
Yoga Blog
Erika Palmer

Yoga for a Calmer Mind

I have struggled with anxiety at times throughout my life. Whenever I mindfully choose to up (or honestly, restart) my yoga practice during periods of

Tap to Read the Blog
Michelle Burks creating free yoga videos for clients

Grab Your free morning yoga poses